Lockheed Martin Science Challenge

Next Competition: March 5-6, 2021

The Lockheed Martin Science Challenge provides county science fair winners an opportunity to present their projects to a team of expert judges before advancing to the state science fair, allowing participants an extra chance to practice their presentations. 


Students in Grades 6–12 who have won first-place in their county science fairs’ physical science competitions are invited to compete in the Lockheed Martin Science Challenge.


Participating counties are: Brevard, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Polk, Seminole, Sumter and Volusia.

For more information about Orlando Science Center’s science competitions, please call our Reservations Department at 407.514.2112 or email competitions@osc.org.

2020 Lockheed Martin Science Challenge Winners

Best in Fair Scholarship Winner:

Tiffani Gay

Clean Our Oceans


First Junior Category winner! This is the first time since this competition has been held that a student in Middle school was awarded Best in Fair.


Teacher Award:

Mrs. Cramp

Orlando Science Middle High Charter School

Junior Category Awards:

Chemistry - Amelia Curran

Comparing the Efficiency, Free Fatty Acid Percentage, and Carbon Dioxide Emissions of Waste Vegetable Oil (WVO) and Ethiopian Mustard (Brassica carinata) Biodiesels.


Biochemistry - Maia Glockson

Bio Beacons: How Does Carbon Dioxide Affect the Stress Response of Bioluminescent Dinoflagellates?


Intelligent Machines, Robotics, and Systems Software - Siddharth Kini

GnomerBot: An AI-based Autonomous Weed Detecting Robot


Mathematics and Computational Science - Teymur Abdulla

Utilizing Eulerian Path for DNA Sequencing


Engineering - Elise Rina

Project: Access Granted


Earth and Environmental Sciences - Sophia Weiner

Constructive Utilization of Indian River Lagoon Muck - Year 2


Environmental Engineering - Rushil Shah

Testing Humic Acids as an Alternative to Synthetic Chelators on the Phytoextraction of Zinc from Soil


Physics and Astronomy - Nathan Boonsanguan

Air-Cooled Dual Axis Solar Concentrator Tracker using Raspberry Pi with Python Programming

Senior Category Awards:

Chemistry - Andy Shar

Novel Fabrication and Implementation of Copper and Silver Plasmonic Nanostructure-coated Foil as a Spectrally Selective Absorber in Highly Efficient Solar Steam Generation under One Sun Illumination


Biochemistry - Kashyap Sreeram

A Machine Learning-Based Approach for Characterization of Neurological Proteomic Biomarkers in a Mouse TBI Preclinical Model


Intelligent Machines, Robotics, and Systems Software - Nikhil Iyer

Evolutionary Algorithm to Construct Neural Network Architectures for Various Applications


Mathematics and Computational Science - Asha Reddy

Implementation of Time Frequency Analysis For Seizure Localization: Phase I


Engineering - Isabelle Trotter

3D Printed Touch


Earth and Environmental Sciences - Eshan Ramesh

Evaluating Methods of Transplanting Zooxanthellae to Enhance the Recovery of Bleached Anemones, Condylactis gigantea


Environmental Engineering - Kyle W. Bramblett

Designing an Improved Method of Shellfish Restoration: Increasing Shell Growth by Constructing an Artificial Structure to Increase Surface Area for Oyster Spat Settlement Using Calcite Media to Improve Water Quality Parameters


Physics and Astronomy - Vivek Sandrapaty

Investigating the Viability of a Deployable Parachute System with Aerial Detachment of the Cabin for Impending Commercial Airplane Crashes via a Novel Computer Simulation