JoAnn Newman

President & CEO


Orlando Science Center President & CEO JoAnn Newman is dedicated to guiding the Science Center as a strong community partner for informal science education, family engagement and workforce development.


During JoAnn’s tenure, Orlando Science Center has grown to engage more than 670,000 people annually, approximately doubling in attendance, revenue and staff. National recognition has followed, including prestigious grants from NASA and the Office of Naval Research, and awards such as Bank of America’s Neighborhood Builders Award and two nominations for the Institute of Museum and Library Services National Medal. JoAnn was selected as one of 2017’s Top CEOs of the Year by Orlando Business Journal. She also leads the Unlock Science Campaign, a $35 million fundraising effort dedicated to creating new experiences, renovating exhibits and increasing access at Orlando Science Center.


JoAnn has a Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial Engineering from Penn State University and a Master’s Degree in Industrial Engineering from Purdue University. She began her career as a development engineer with AT&T Microelectronics in Allentown, Pennsylvania, and was transferred to Orlando in 1989 to work as senior engineer. JoAnn came to the Orlando Science Center in 2003 as Director of Operations and held several executive leadership positions before being named President & CEO in 2009.

Senior Leadership Team

Craig Meyer

Chief Financial Officer


Serving OSC Since 2015

Karena Chunoo, Orlando Science Center VP Education

Karena Chunoo

VP of Education


Serving OSC Since 2019

Leslie Emery

VP of Human Resources


Serving OSC Since 2001

Debra Gordon

VP of Operations


Serving OSC Since 1989

Brandan Lanman

VP of Visitor Experience


Serving OSC Since 2007

Jeff Stanford

VP of Marketing

Serving OSC Since 2000

Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020

Chuck Beverly


Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Patrick Aland

Vice Chair 


Amy Chapman


CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP

Nirav Pandya


Orion Technologies

Julie Tyk

Board Counsel

Pearson, Doyle, Mohre & Pastis, LLP

Dr. Wes Naylor

Development Chair

Fifty Pound Brains, LLC

Joseph Durso

Advocacy Chair

Embrace Families

Rina Patel

At Large

Rose' Girls

Dr. Richard Signer

At Large

Florida Hospital for Children, retired

Voting Trustees

Jim Atchison

SeaWorld, retired

Chris Bowman

Duke Energy

Karoom Brown


Chris Carmody


Jim Cross

BDO, retired

Teddy Dover

Charles Schwab

Devin Elmore 

Universal Parks and Resorts


Gary Heath

Massey Services

Rachel Hutter

Walt Disney World

Michelle Jenkinson

Orlando Magic

Dr. Sarah Layton CMC, FIMC

Corporate Strategy Institute Inc.

Rusty McCranie

WFTV, Channel 9 – Cox Media Group

Esther McKean, Esq

Akerman, LLP

Tom Mirek

Lockheed Martin Missiles & Fire Control

Marilyn Moran, Esq

FordHarrison, LLP

Barton Morrison, Esq

Holland and Knight, LLP

Brandon Naids

Talon Simulations

Steve “Snak” Nakagawa

Rockwell Collins Simulation & Training Solutions

Jon Nally

Tupperware Brands

Dennis Nolte

Seacoast Wealth Management

Sibille Pritchard

Chelonian Research Institute

Jenise Osani

Orlano Utilities Commission

Jamie Roche

Carr, Riggs & Ingram

Meredith Sand

Meredith Sand Designs

Dr. Susan Singer

Rollins College

Demetria Sloan

Vantage Point Coaching, LLC

Mila Smith

Balfour Beatty

Marc Swanson

SeaWorld Parks & Resorts

Dr. Peter Wearden

 Nemours Children's Health System

Scott Wilson


Antwan Williams

Orlando Health

Lindsay Winter, Esq

Lindsay Blare, LLC

Honorary, Ex-Officio and Permanent Trustees

Lonnie Bell


Orange County Family Services

Dr. Tina Calderone


Seminole County Public Schools

The Honorable Dean Cannon, Esq

Honorary Trustee

Robert Finfrock

Board Advisor

S. James Gates, Jr., Ph.D.,

Honorary Trustee

Steve Goldman

Honorary Trustee

Captain Tim Hill, Commanding Office



Dr. Michael Johnson


University of Central Florida

Eugene Jones


Valencia College

Linda Kobert


Orange County School Board

Les D. Kramer, Ph.D. PE

Honorary Trustee

Advanced Materials Professional Services, LLC

Dr. Laura Ross


Seminole State College

M.J. Soileau, Ph.D.

Honorary Trustee

University of Central Florida

Nelson Ying, Ph.D.

Honorary Trustee

China Group/China Pavilion, EPCOT